AAP releases its first list of nominees for Assembly elections in Gujarat

New Delhi: The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) was the first off the block among political parties in BJP-ruled Gujarat to announce on Tuesday its first list of nominees for 10 out of a total of 182 constituencies in the state for the upcoming Assembly elections due in December.

The nominees include senior leader and vice-president Bhemabhai Chaudhary from Deodar, while another vice-president, Jagmal Vala will contest from Somnath constituency.

While Chaudhary has been associated with AAP since its launch in Gujarat, Vala runs medical centre and schools and does social welfare works through them.

The other names in the list are Sagar Rabari for Bechraji in Mehsana, Arjun Rathva for Chhota Udepur, Vashram Sagathiya for Rajkot Rural seat, Ram Dhaduk for Kamrej seat in Surat, Shivlal Barasia for Rajkot South, Sudhir Vaghani for Gariyadhar in Bhavnagar, Rajendra Solanki for Bardoli seat in Surat and Omprakash Tiwari for Naroda seat in Ahmedabad.

Besides, leaders of Other Backward Caste (OBC), Scheduled Caste (SC) and Scheduled Tribe (ST) communities have also been givens representation in the list.

The list of nominees was finalised and greenlit by AAP national convener and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal yesterday during his visit to the state.

AAP is buoyed by its performance in the recent local elections in Gujarat. Kejriwal has made several visits to the State to boost his party’s election campaign.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *